Can’t We All Get Along?

Let’s foster better relations between the media and the spokesmen/women for the agencies we cover!

We all have those stories — “The PIO never got back to me!” or “That reporter misquoted me!”

Can’t we all get along?

Sometimes it seems like we can’t. Let’s get together and hear from both sides.

What works well and what doesn’t? What do you wish that spokesman would do to make your job as a reporter better? Spokesmen, what do you wish reporters would realize about what you do?

There will be a panel discussion, but most of the session will be an open discussion with everyone in attendance.

Journalists and PIOs are invited to this important discussion!

Panelists include:
* Bill Sadler, Arkansas State Police
* Jennifer Godwin, City of Little Rock
* Amy Webb, Department of Human Services
* Steven McClanahan, Little Rock Police Department
* Fredricka Sharkey, University of Central Arkansas
* Benjamin Hardy, Arkansas Times,
* Drew Petrimoulx, KARK
* Claudia Lauer, The Associated Press

Visit us on Facebook to RSVP!

Can't We all Just Get Along

Cocktails, a contest and good conversation

The Society of Professional Journalists, Arkansas Pro Chapter will host a cocktail mixer this Thursday, Aug. 27, from 5:30 until whenever at 109 and Co., 109 Main St., Little Rock, Ark. Come meet your fellow Arkansas journalists and enjoy a few specialty cocktails!

See the flyer below for more info. A big thank you to board members Jennifer Ellis and Chelsea Boozer for planning this!


#SPJdesk Contest

New officers and board

The board of the Society of Professional Journalists, Arkansas Pro Chapter met July 1 and approved a new slate of board members for the 2015-2016 year. The board also tentatively approved officers (listed below), but tabled final action until all officers could be present. The board’s next meeting is at 6:30 p.m. July 8 at Flying Saucer in downtown Little Rock. The board will meet the second Wednesday of every month.

2015-2016 Arkansas Pro Chapter Board

President: Kelly P. Kissel, The Associated Press
Vice-President: John Lyon, Arkansas News Bureau
Secretary: Sarah Morris, Jonesboro Sun
Treasurer: Rob Moritz, University of Central Arkansas

Board Members

Sonny Albarado, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Chelsea Boozer, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Sarah Campbell, Jacksonville Leader
Yavonda Chase, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Chad Day, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Jennifer Sue Ellis, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Sonny Rhodes, University of Arkansas—Little Rock

New Arkansas Pro officers


The board of directors of the Arkansas Pro Chapter held a telephone meeting last week to elect a replacement for Eric Francis, who had resigned after two years in office. Kelly Kissel was elected the new president, and stepped down from his office of treasurer. Sarah Morris was elected treasurer and, so long as there is no conflict in the bylaws, will keep her current post as secretary. John Lyon carries on as vice-president.

It’s been a pleasure serving Arkansas Pro as its president and I look forward to helping Kelly and the board do many great things with our chapter!

Eric Francis

“Law School for Journalists” Nov. 5 at Arkansas Tech

The Arkansas Tech Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists is presenting a workshop to help members of the press understand the ins and outs of getting information from the court system, how Administrative Order 19 impacts the FOIA, and what you can and can’t do in a courtroom.

The event is free. For details and contact information, please see flyer at our Facebook page.

Eric Francis, President
Arkansas Pro Chapter SPJ